UC Hastings VS UC Davis Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
matt30

New

UC Hastings VS UC Davis

Post by matt30 » Tue Dec 09, 2008 10:45 pm

Any one had any experience at one rather than the other?
Do Davis students get free bus passes? Better campus? People?

They rank about the same so...

If you don't live on the west coast I want your opinion too!
How are each of these school perceived out east, if at all.

deliciouspork

New

Re: UC Hastings VS UC Davis

Post by deliciouspork » Tue Dec 09, 2008 11:27 pm

I'm an undergrad at Davis and I have visited the Hastings campus. I'm also applying to both, so here's my 2 cents:

Davis:
More scenic campus (overall). The law school is currently undergoing renovations as it is quite old and bland. While the school is located on the UCD campus, it's pretty far removed from any undergraduate buildings.

With respect to the buses, I'm not sure, but I would guess that law students get free access to Unitrans (the student-run bus service for UCD). As long as you have a student ID, you are given free rides. Davis is pretty small, so it's very easy to get around; it's also extremely bike friendly.

In terms of cost, Davis certainly has cheaper housing. I currently pay $400 for my own room in 4-bedroom and have easy access to campus (about 1 mile off campus, 10-15 min walk, 5 min bike, or bus). Davis really is a small town, and there's not much to "do." There are a few small shopping venues and some good restaurants but beyond that life in Davis is what you make of it. I do enjoy the tranquil, laid-back small-town atmosphere, but occasionally I get really bored and have to go to the SF Bay area. For this reason, I'd say a car is highly recommended.

Hastings: