UT vs NDLS Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
ro566

New

UT vs NDLS

Post by ro566 » Thu Mar 30, 2023 11:54 pm

Goals are clerkship --> generic Big Law --> Fed. Gov. Work. Not entirely opposed to ending up in TX after graduation, especially for a 1-2 yr clerkship. However, my strong preference would be to end up in a major market on the East Coast or West Coast (or Chicago) and not in TX for any job that is not a clerkship.

NDLS seems to be on the rise with respect to clerkships. For the Class of 2022 they placed more students in FC than UT by a wide margin. However, UT's Big Law numbers seem to be superior and UT places into more prestigious firms than NDLS (CSM, Skadden vs. Faegre, Dentons).

Roughly equal COA. Is this as tough as I think it is?

andythefir

Silver

Re: UT vs NDLS

Post by andythefir » Fri Mar 31, 2023 10:57 am

I’m an NDLS grad who worked in Texas. If you don’t want to work in Texas it would be weird to go to UT. There are surely UT grads in Chicago or random coastal places, but they’d surely be interested in rapping about how much they hate (not Texas) and wish they could be in Texas.

When I was at ND, there were outsize opportunities for people who were 1 conservative and 2 in the top 10%. It wouldn’t surprise me if it’s now more like top 30% with huge opportunities for #1-3, but 70% of folks aren’t in the top 30. I also bet ND gets more traction in a nominal market than UT because of anti-Texas bias blinding folks to the fact that it’s a better law school.

ro566

New

Post by ro566 » Fri Mar 31, 2023 11:29 am

andythefir wrote:
Fri Mar 31, 2023 10:57 am
I’m an NDLS grad who worked in Texas. If you don’t want to work in Texas it would be weird to go to UT. There are surely UT grads in Chicago or random coastal places, but they’d surely be interested in rapping about how much they hate (not Texas) and wish they could be in Texas.