USC (35K) v. Michigan (25K) - SoCal Biglaw Goals Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
ramosluis525

New

USC (35K) v. Michigan (25K) - SoCal Biglaw Goals

Post by ramosluis525 » Mon Apr 05, 2021 8:00 pm

Hi there!

I need help deciding between USC with a 35K annual scholarship and Michigan with a 25K annual scholarship.

I'm presently working at a biglaw firm in Boston and am setting my sights towards a biglaw career in LA after graduation. I'm originally from LA and am hoping to return each summer to work. My heart is telling me USC, but it's difficult to turn down a great school like Michigan especially with the scholarship offers being so close. I understand Michigan places better virtually everywhere, but that the LA biglaw market is more niche and tends to recruit heavily from the local schools (ucla/usc/uci).

For what it's worth: I have a little to no interest in clerking; I have over 6 years of full-time legal work experience; I'm a fluent Spanish speaker and a first generation American (both parents from Mexico); and I'm also still in the running for the SEO Law Fellowship, I have my second interview with the director this weekend. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

laanngo

Bronze

Re: USC (35K) v. Michigan (25K) - SoCal Biglaw Goals

Post by laanngo » Mon Apr 05, 2021 8:47 pm

ramosluis525 wrote:
Mon Apr 05, 2021 8:00 pm
Hi there!

I need help deciding between USC with a 35K annual scholarship and Michigan with a 25K annual scholarship.