Help me choose between BU, Northeastern, and CUNY Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
optimisty

New

Help me choose between BU, Northeastern, and CUNY

Post by optimisty » Thu Mar 11, 2021 3:40 pm

Hello folks,

I'm writing to ask for your advice, perspectives, and opinions about the titular schools.

Before anyone comes in signing the praises of YHS to the high heavens, please know that I'm perfectly happy with any of the 3 I am considering. I was a splitter candidate. My LSAT is 170, my undergrad GPA is somewhere just south of 3.2. I've matured a lot since my undergrad years and I think the merits of my work will be what opens any future doors. The T14 is not in the cards for me and that's fine. Financially, I'm not worried about debt. I come from fortunate circumstances.

Context about my goals:

I know 100% that I want to pursue public interest law. I graduated in 2015 and have the work and life experience to back my claim up. I'm a bit prestige averse and I'm most interested in direct representation and litigation. In terms of legal fields, I think criminal and juvenile law are the types of clinics and experiences I will target first but I am eager to expand my horizons and pursue broader opportunities.

Geographically, I am happy to study and work in the Northeast. I've lived in Boston for 8 years and if my career took me somewhere else, that would be exciting but not necessary or something I am particularly aiming for. I don't want to go to D.C.

My current opinion of each school (schools listed alphabetically and not in order of preference):

Boston University: