NYU Executive LLM vs. Georgetown LLM online Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
it'sjustme

New

NYU Executive LLM vs. Georgetown LLM online

Post by it'sjustme » Wed Sep 02, 2020 12:19 am

As the title says, I'm currently considering the NYU Executive LLM and Georgetown LLM programs. I would theoretically start either program in Spring 2021. This post is kind of a mixed bag of questions, so if this is the incorrect forum, I apologize.

For a bit of background, I graduated from law school in 2016 from a 90ish ranked school. I took six or seven tax courses, won an award for academic excellence in tax, competed in tax Moot Court, and volunteered over 100 hours to a tax clinic serving those who could not afford counsel.

After graduation and for the better part of the last four years, I've practiced corporate law, with only a smattering of tax, unfortunately. Most of that has been work tangential to corporate, but nothing substantial.

Further, as the bulk of my practice was mergers and acquisitions, I was laid off due to covid a few months back. I figured this would be the perfect time to enroll into a program like this, and would help substantially in trying to procure a tax position.

At this point, my choice is between the NYU Executive LLM program and Georgetown's LLM program. I've read elsewhere that the Executive LLM program is not as well thought of as the full, in-person NYU LLM in tax. However, for my part of the country (Rust Belt city), I'm not sure it'd make much difference, if any. Does anyone have any experience here? Optimally, I'd stay here to procure a tax position. However, if absolutely necessary, I'd be willing to move where there was one.

Any thoughts are welcomed. Thanks for reading!

TL;DR - unemployed corporate attorney, loves tax, looking to enroll in NYU Executive LLM or Georgetown online tax program.

Sackboy

Silver

Re: NYU Executive LLM vs. Georgetown LLM online

Post by Sackboy » Sun Sep 06, 2020 9:21 pm