Yale full COA Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
mocking

New

Yale full COA

Post by mocking » Thu Jan 16, 2020 8:22 am

Hello all,

I recently was fortunate enough to receive admission to Yale. As the initial thrill is wearing off a bit, I thought I’d come to you lovely for a bit of advice in picking a school/debt advice because as a recent college grad I feel out of my league.

My parents make quite a bit of money — enough that I anticipate no or little need aid from Yale (though not nearly enough such that cost is no object).

My goals post law school are public interest with an emphasis on criminal law — I believe I’d be totally happy being a state prosecutor or public defender, though dream job would be along the lines of ACLU, DOJ, federal prosecutor, etc. I have 0 desire to go into big law and would prefer if you don’t consider that as an option for the sake of this question.

That said, Yale seems like a great academic fit for me. The COAP seems very extensive, and my reading of it is that it would essentially pay the same if I’m 100k in debt or 400k.

Because of that, my parents have said that if I go to Yale, I should plan to go into debt for the full freight of it. I know this is an extremely large amount of money and the thought of it makes me very nervous (I am generally a risk averse person and I hate the thought of this much debt/seems like it could be life ruining).

So I guess my questions are:

1. How risky is this tentative plan?
2. Is my reading of the COAP correct? Is there any major loophole I should be aware of?
3. Is any school even worth the full COA? I know it’s yale, but close to 400k is hard to swallow.

Thanks in advance for your time and help!

kinge

New

Re: Yale full COA

Post by kinge » Thu Jan 16, 2020 12:35 pm

I know it's still fairly early in the cycle for results, but what are your other options right now? If you got into Yale, you are probably competitive for $$$-$$$$ at T6 and lower T14 schools