UCLA or UT? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
whydoieven

New

UCLA or UT?

Post by whydoieven » Fri May 10, 2019 9:01 pm

Hello, I am choosing between UT and UCLA, or reapplying. My stats are 178/3.5. Here's what I'm looking at:

UT Austin projected debt: ~65k
UCLA projected debt: ~55k
For completeness, Berkeley projected debt: ~225k

I am a Texas resident with deep ties to the state; I work in oil and gas right now and would like to to focus on environmental and energy law going forward. For whatever reason, UCLA gave me a solid amount of money.. I am not sure where I want to live long term, but I think I would like to end up working in biglaw in the mountain west region where most of my family lives now or back in Texas. I have been very disappointed in my cycle (waitlisted everywhere except HYSChi, where I have been rejected) and was really hoping for Michigan/UVA to come through. But that's the past and at this point I think it's either reapply or go to UCLA/UT.

I'm worried that UCLA would geographically isolate me and I could never go back to Texas/outside CA, and that the median outcomes there are not going to be what I would want out of a law career. UT has similar issues, but from what I can tell it seems to have a better shot at at least getting you a good job in Texas where, if nothing else, the COL is low.

Thank you in advance.

edit: I'm an idiot and miscalculated.

LBJ's Hair

Silver

Re: UCLA or UT?

Post by LBJ's Hair » Fri May 10, 2019 10:21 pm

Why wouldn't you go to UT if you're seriously considering practicing in Texas (no idea what BigLaw is available in Mountain West, likely not much) are only paying $50K total, and your other option is Berkeley for $200K more? Seems like an easy choice to me.