NYC public sector law school- Brooklyn, Fordham, CUNY Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
stc2128

New

NYC public sector law school- Brooklyn, Fordham, CUNY

Post by stc2128 » Thu Mar 07, 2019 4:52 pm

Hello TLS:

I wanted to see if anyone can offer counsel for my current situation.

My background/situation:
I am a policy/economic analyst in a large government agency in NYC that employs many attorneys (you have probably heard of us). I love my job and working in city government. I have always been interested in the law and litigation, and am hoping to attend law school part time and continue working in my current position where I'm gaining a lot of experience, saving some good money and making good connections with city attorneys in my agency and in the agencies we work with. If I graduated and stayed exactly where I am with a law degree, I would qualify for a promotion internally and would be satisfied with the outcome.

Here are my options (before any scholarship negotiations):

Acceptances with Cost of Attendance:
Fordham P/T: 40k/year in tuition (4k annual scholarship)
Brooklyn Law P/T: 8k/year in tuition (38k annual scholarship, top 80% stipulation)
New York Law School P/T: Full tuition scholarship and 2k semesterly stipend
CUNY Law P/T: 6k/year in tuition (4k annual scholarship)

Career goals:
Would like to work in city government for the near to mid-term future (think city law department or GC in another agency), have the option to transfer to a state or federal agency down the road, or to a mid to small law firm in the NYC metropolitan area in the long term. Potentially live out my days as a solo practitioner once my pensions are vested. No real interest in TLS's "Biglaw" world.

GPA/LSAT:
3.4/162

Questions: