School Vs Location Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
TLS2022

New

School Vs Location

Post by TLS2022 » Thu Jul 13, 2017 3:24 pm

Hello,
I am currently located in MN. I graduated from the U of MN, Carlson School of Management in 2005 magna cum laude, and home testing indicates a reasonable expectation of 165-173 LSAT score (testing June 2018). I have 7 yrs work experience as a Naval Officer. I have taken 7 years off to raise 3 children. I have solid letters of recommendation. Given this information, I expect to be able to earn admittance to a T25 school. With my GI Bill, I will receive 80% of in-state state university tuition rates. The University of Minnesota is ranked 17-23 depending on the list referenced. I intend to work in the Twin Cities, private sector, business or labor & employment law.

I am seeking advice on the value of applying to and potentially attending a T7 school knowing it would require the expense and difficulty of relocating my family for 3 years, and I would not intend to seek employment in the region/cities of any T7 schools. Is it worth the time and expense of application? Does a T7 with its associated prestige vs the U of MN improve my employment opportunities/increase potential earnings over time enough to justify the increased cost of education and temporary relocation?
TIA!

grades??

Silver

Re: School Vs Location

Post by grades?? » Thu Jul 13, 2017 3:46 pm

None of this matters one bit until you have an Lsat score

koval

Bronze

Post by koval » Thu Jul 13, 2017 3:54 pm

Agree with above poster about LSAT score. Get the LSAT then ask for advice.