Fordham$$ vs Duke $ Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
thk29

New

Fordham$$ vs Duke $

Post by thk29 » Mon Apr 03, 2017 10:19 pm

Hello everyone this is my first time posting and I could really use some advice. Right now the two offers I am seriously considering are 135k at Fordham and 81k at Duke, I will be financing my education with loans. I am from New Jersey, have strong ties to the area, and hope to practice in New York after graduation. Living expense at the two kind of evens out for me because if I attend Fordham I will be living with my mother in Jersey paying utilities and other bills while if I went to Duke I would be paying rent. I've calculated that with living expense loans my overall debt at Duke would be approximately 154k while at Fordham it would be approximately 84k. While I realize Duke is the better school with better employment prospects, I am leaning toward Fordham because spending 3 years away from family and friends during what will certainly be the most rigorous academic challenge of my life does not sound too enticing. Would I be crazy to turn down 81k at Duke for 135k at Fordham?
Also as far as career goals I want to clerk for a year after school and then would like to work in a mid-sized or big law firm. My GPA is 3.74 and my LSAT is 170. Thank you for your help in advance!

So update everyone, I just got offered 105k (35/year) at GULC and am strongly considering this offer. For me it seems like the perfect intermediate because it is much closer to home than Duke and will come with a lower debt load, and it has significantly better employment prospects than Fordham for only 10k more a year. I'm sure most will still recommend Duke but for personal reasons staying close to home and being in a city with public transportation are optimal conditions for me so right now Georgetown is at the top of my list.
Last edited by thk29 on Mon Apr 10, 2017 1:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

grades??

Silver