GW sticker price vs. Washington and Lee full scholarship? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
tigerlily13

New

GW sticker price vs. Washington and Lee full scholarship?

Post by tigerlily13 » Thu Mar 30, 2017 8:37 pm

So I really, really want to practice in DC (I'm studying international law so the ideal career would be something in international dispute resolution or working as a consultant for the UN or a foreign government) and have narrowed my choices down to W+L and GW.

If I went to GW, I'm looking at about $175,000 in debt, but W+L is going to be about $30,000. I know based on numbers alone W+L is the clear choice, but I'm a little nervous about choosing it. I'm at W+M right now and couldn't stand four years of being in such a small town, and I've heard Lexington has even less to do (which I didn't think was possible...). I'm also a pretty liberal Persian Muslim, so I'm nervous about going somewhere that I've heard is pretty conservative. I appreciate people who have differing views from my own, but with all the hatred that's come up against Middle Easterners in the past few years, it does make me hesitant. I just don't know if I'd be happy at W+L, and the other schools I got into either didn't offer enough $$ or aren't likely to get me into DC.

Also honestly considering getting a paralegal job for a year and retaking, but I don't know if it would do me much good since my GPA is so low - I have a 3.05 and a 164 lsat.

What do you guys suggest?

cavalier1138

Re: GW sticker price vs. Washington and Lee full scholarship?

Post by cavalier1138 » Thu Mar 30, 2017 8:41 pm

I suggest retaking and reapplying. Neither of these schools will give you opportunities in the field you're interested in.

luckyirish13

Bronze

Post by luckyirish13 » Thu Mar 30, 2017 8:44 pm