ITT Chicago Kent (30k/yr) vs. retake & reapply Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
hawks1315

New

ITT Chicago Kent (30k/yr) vs. retake & reapply

Post by hawks1315 » Sat Apr 23, 2016 7:57 pm

Hello, all
I've been lurking and reading posts here for few years now but this is my first time posting.

Undergrad: ucla, psychology
GPA: 2.8
LSAT: 158
WE: 3 yrs but nothing impressive (bookkeeper at a small accounting firm)

My GPA is horrible. I still have nightmares about it. :cry: No excuse.
I've suffered through some anxiety issues, depression, and had a panic attack that happened on finals day
and actually failed three courses because their finals were all on that same day and I had to retake in my second yr.
I was mostly in denial but my family found out and I started slowly getting better with support system, counseling, etc.
The grade shows an upward trend in my last two years.

After undergrad, I spend years rebuilding my health. Think it took about 3 full years to really feel that I'm physically and mentally strong.
I regret not seeking any help soon but better late than never I guess.
I also continue to take careful measures to keep myself healthy (exercise, counseling, right foods, etc).

Now, the real question:

Chicago-Kent (30k/yr; no GPA requirement) vs. retake & reapply

I know it's not a great school but I really like that 30k/yr has no GPA requirement.
Also my family is adamant that I go to law school sooner than later since my father is retiring next year and they will support most of my COL if I go this year.
With the first deposit deadline approaching, I thought I might ask for some advice.

My first choice of schools were Loyola (LA) or USD since I've lived most of my life in S.Cali.
I'm waitlisted at USD and haven't heard back from Loyola. But even if I get in, I probably won't get much scholarship.