UVA ($$$) vs. Duke ($$$) Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Where should I go?

UVA
88%
Duke
13%

Total votes: 32

jeanralphio

New

UVA ($$$) vs. Duke ($$$)

Post by jeanralphio » Wed Apr 20, 2016 10:01 am

The schools you are considering
UVA and Duke

Total debt at repayment
UVA: $142,672 ($40k/year scholarship)
Duke: $146,169 ($40k/year scholarship)

How you will be financing your COA, i.e. loans, family, or savings
Loans, although I have a good amount of savings, so I'm comfortable with the debt load at each.

Where you are from and where you want to work
Lived outside of DC for 15 years. I have three years of policy experience in DC, and that's where I see myself in the future.

Your general career goals
I'd like to clerk after law school. After that, I'm open to DC biglaw doing regulatory stuff, bigfed, or eventually being a commissioned officer in an Administration (the dream).

Your LSAT/GPA numbers
172/3.6

I've visited both and could see myself at either school. I went to UVA for undergrad and I love Charlottesville, but I wouldn't mind a change of pace for three years. One big draw is that after commuting in DC for four years, being able to walk to school at UVA is a huge plus (as petty as that may sound). TLS has been such a great resource over the years and I appreciate the input! Thank you!

lymenheimer

Gold

Re: UVA ($$$) vs. Duke ($$$)

Post by lymenheimer » Wed Apr 20, 2016 10:04 am

This seems like an obvious choice, so I'm not really sure where this question comes in. I mean, Duke can get you a clerkship and to DC, but UVA is objectively better at both of those things. So unless you are cool with potentially not getting your goal, just so you can have a change of scenery for 3 years, UVA is the obvious choice.

eta: I'm a 0L...so what do I know about numbers and 509 reports, right?
Last edited by lymenheimer on Wed Apr 20, 2016 10:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Mikey

Platinum

Post by Mikey » Wed Apr 20, 2016 10:07 am