UT $$$ vs SMU$$$$ (full ride) Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
pennylane2016

New

UT $$$ vs SMU$$$$ (full ride)

Post by pennylane2016 » Thu Mar 24, 2016 11:58 pm

Hi guys! I really need help with this decision. I am a Texas resident with big law ambitions and have two great scholarship offers. SMU (my alma mater) has offered me the full ride Hutchinson scholarship with a top 1/2 stipulation, while the highest ranking law school in Texas, UT, has offered me 20k per year. I'm leaning towards UT because of the alumni network alone, but am I totally crazy for turning down full scholly at SMU?

Thanks in advance!!!

BasilHallward

Silver

Re: UT $$$ vs SMU$$$$ (full ride)

Post by BasilHallward » Fri Mar 25, 2016 12:07 am

UT. easy choice. It's better in every aspect. The scholarship, your options at graduation, Austin, and your ability to have what you want in 3 different markets, if you're above median. Don't screw this one up.

Disclaimer: I'm at UT, but from Dallas and passed on SMU for the above reasons

mp2306

New

Post by mp2306 » Fri Mar 25, 2016 12:09 am

As a current SMU law student, I would say to do UT. The top 1/2 is no guarantee and you'll need top 10% here to get big law and it's still a toss up. At UT you have better odds and UT carries further than the regional ties of SMU.

BasilHallward

Silver

Post by BasilHallward » Fri Mar 25, 2016 12:14 am

mp2306 wrote:As a current SMU law student, I would say to do UT. The top 1/2 is no guarantee and you'll need top 10% here to get big law and it's still a toss up. At UT you have better odds and UT carries further than the regional ties of SMU.
I thought 20% of SMU kids get BigLaw per employment data?? Is top 10% no guarantee because rich kids with connections or something that or not top 10%??

pennylane2016

New

Post by pennylane2016 » Fri Mar 25, 2016 12:16 am