BC vs. UIUC Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
greenearth928

New

BC vs. UIUC

Post by greenearth928 » Fri Mar 04, 2016 1:27 pm

I am an international student from Canada and got accepted BC with 10K and UIUC with 40K a year. Retaking LSAT is not my option currently and would probably decide b/w them. BigLaw is my goal after graduation and I don't have a preference b/w Chicago and Boston for my future city of residence. Studying and living in the US would be a big change in my life. Projecting 10 years after graduation, based on employment rates fo Biglaw, possible top-out average salary, living expense and QOL for a new family, which school would provide better prospect? I would greatly appreciate your thoughts and opinions. Thank you :D

BigZuck

Diamond

Re: BC vs. UIUC

Post by BigZuck » Fri Mar 04, 2016 2:03 pm

If you want big law you need to aim higher than these schools. Focus on the T14, those are the only schools where people can reasonably expect to get big law.

datenginedatcould

New

Post by datenginedatcould » Fri Mar 04, 2016 2:30 pm

This website can answer which school will statistically give you a better shot at biglaw: LST. However, you should reconsider how you are evaluating the schools. Both locations are drastically different and expensive in the long-term. BC is very close to the city and biglaw, whereas UIUC is hours away from such an environment. All else equal, neither school gives you a greater advantage for biglaw. If you really want Boston, re-apply and shoot for BU to negotiate the BC scholarship. If you really want Chicago, re-take. If you're just applying anywhere, don't. Consider what you really want out of this new life in the U.S. It is a big change, afterall.

Frutsie

New

Post by Frutsie » Fri Mar 04, 2016 2:31 pm