Yale vs. Harvard (Biglaw, working in Asia, international) Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Thanks again for your help!

Harvard
69%
Yale
31%

Total votes: 74

qgprhtnf

New

Yale vs. Harvard (Biglaw, working in Asia, international)

Post by qgprhtnf » Fri Apr 24, 2015 3:12 pm

Thanks for all of your help!

------

-Where you are from and where you want to work, and other places where you have significant ties (if any)
-Your general career goals

-> I am an international student from one of Mainland China/Korea/Singapore/Japan/Hong Kong, and I would like to move to a law firm in my home country after working in the US for a couple of years.
Last edited by qgprhtnf on Sun Apr 26, 2015 11:07 pm, edited 6 times in total.

OhBoyOhBortles

Gold

Re: Yale vs. Harvard (Biglaw, working in Asia, international)

Post by OhBoyOhBortles » Fri Apr 24, 2015 3:14 pm

Yale.

ETA:
Congrats!
Last edited by OhBoyOhBortles on Fri Apr 24, 2015 3:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Tanicius

Gold

Post by Tanicius » Fri Apr 24, 2015 3:18 pm

OhBoyOhBortles wrote:Yale.

ETA: Congrats!
Disagree. Harvard is better for Biglaw. More specialized courses for him to take, probably more prestige than Yale in China, and larger alumni network for his location. He's going to be fine either way though.

Ohiobumpkin

Silver

Post by Ohiobumpkin » Fri Apr 24, 2015 3:21 pm

I thought the common wisdom was that for Asian students seeking to go back to Asia to practice law, Harvard was the better choice. I've heard the Harvard name carries a lot of weight with Asian employers, and might suit your goals better than doing Yale. However, your career goal seems kind of unicorn-ish, so Yale might honestly be the better option (especially depending on how many years you want to stay in the U.S.).

Tanicius

Gold

Post by Tanicius » Fri Apr 24, 2015 3:23 pm