UMN vs. BC vs. UF vs. UGA Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
thecap91

New

UMN vs. BC vs. UF vs. UGA

Post by thecap91 » Wed Feb 04, 2015 7:55 pm

Hello, I am looking for some advise on making a decision on where to go. Here's some background:

I am a non-traditional applicant. I was a horrible high school student, did two years at community college and transferred to UF undergrad where I graduated cum laude. Son of Colombian immigrant parents and first to graduate college in my family. Graduated in May 2014 and have been working for an immigration firm since then.

My career goals are not biglaw or bust but I definitely would like to work biglaw if I have the opportunity. I think I am more than capable of making $$$ in a mid size firm and eventually opening my own practice. I will not be retaking the LSAT.

I also am not sure where I would want to practice. I am a native of south florida but would love to live up north as well. I want to see what people suggest for me to do. I have looked at some of the large firms in Miami and see that many of them have partners that went out of state, so I don't know how bad it would be to attend UMN or BC and come back, maybe you all can help with that.

LSDAS GPA: 3.51
LSAT:164

Current offers:

UMN - 84K with 2.5 stip
BC - No scholly info yet but I am sure ill get something
UF - No scholly info yet but sure ill get something
UGA - So far they've offered me instate for 1L (but they are still reviewing for merit scholly)
FSU - No scholly yet but sure ill get something
UM (Miami) - 96K with 2.5 stip

Pending:
UVA
Duke
UMich
WUSTL
Vandy
W&M
Georgetown