Catholic University vs UDC Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Senior 1811

New

Catholic University vs UDC

Post by Senior 1811 » Mon Jul 07, 2014 8:58 pm

So, let's start here. I'm a 47 year old GS-15 (1811/Supervisory Special Agent) with 26 years of law enforcement experience at the local, state and federal levels. I graduated from a Big Ten University with a 2.2 Undergrad GPA in Criminal Justice, 3.7 GPA with a Masters in International Affairs and a 155 LSAT.

I've been in management with my agency for the past 14 years, excelling in investigations of great complexity with national and international impact. My question is simple, at this point in my life, does it matter if I graduate from Catholic University (CUA) or the University of the District of Columbia (UDC) with a JD? I don't intend to practice as I have a great career as an agent making what I would have hoped to make as a practicing lawyer. Going to law school is to satisfy my thirst for knowledge and my desire to obtain a JD. At the end of the day, I would like to teach at the undergrad/graduate level as I serve as an adjunct assistant professor at a grad school here in Washington, DC.

So, I am hesitant about CUA because of the cost of the part time tuition of $130K and could take me as long as 10 years paying off loans at $1,500 a month. Conversely, UDC's tuition is $50K for their part time program and is advertised for its diversity particularly the number of students over 35 (40% of the student body). Also, U.S. News and World Report ranks UDC as the seventh best clinical programs of all law schools in the country. This is surprisingly considering UDC is ranked 173rd of all ABA approved law schools. CUA has a better reputation and is ranked 83rd. So does anyone have an opinion for a a conflicted senior 1811 of which school would be best? All well thought provoking comments welcomed.

jk148706

Gold

Re: Catholic University vs UDC

Post by jk148706 » Mon Jul 07, 2014 9:03 pm