FIU vs Loyola New Orleans Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
jswaller00

New

FIU vs Loyola New Orleans

Post by jswaller00 » Mon Jun 02, 2014 4:19 pm

My decision is down to FIU in Miami and Loyola in New Orleans. No scholarship at FIU but a 50% scholarship at Loyola which makes the cost of attendance virtually the same since I'm a Florida resident.

Would it be better to go to a higher ranked school at FIU or go to Loyola where I feel I have a better chance of standing out and being in the top of my class?

worldtraveler

Platinum

Re: FIU vs Loyola New Orleans

Post by worldtraveler » Mon Jun 02, 2014 4:52 pm

don't go

or wait a year and retake

HRomanus

Silver

Post by HRomanus » Mon Jun 02, 2014 4:58 pm

This is wrong on literally every level.

1. FIU (#100) is ranked worse than Loyola (#87) in USNWR.
2. Rankings are meaningless
3. What actually matters, their employment outcomes, are almost equally bad. At FIU, you are nearly guaranteed a low-paying job at a small firm in Florida. At Loyola, you have a chance at BigLaw, but will most likely end up under- or unemployed.
4. Don't go to law school based on ranking.
5. Don't go to law school based on probability of being at the top of your class.
6. You should never pay sticker at FIU.
7. You should never pay 50% tuition at Loyola.
8. Excepting T14, you should only go to a law school where you want to practice. You've literally chosen two on the opposite side of the country.

You should retake your LSAT and apply to law schools that fit your employment goals.

rad lulz

Platinum

Post by rad lulz » Mon Jun 02, 2014 5:05 pm

worldtraveler wrote:don't go

or wait a year and retake

jswaller00

New

Post by jswaller00 » Mon Jun 02, 2014 5:14 pm

HRomanus wrote:This is wrong on literally every level.