University of Wisconsin - Madison Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Seraphym

New

University of Wisconsin - Madison

Post by Seraphym » Thu Apr 03, 2014 9:59 am

Hello everyone,

I'm just going to cut to the chase. For the last two years, I've been rolling around the idea of attending law school. It was my original goal after I graduated in Dec 2011, but I abandoned it because I have been an avid follower of the scam movement for that time. My pre-law adviser introduced me to it and I decided it would just be best to wait. In the meantime, I decided to continue studying for a second try at the LSAT because my first attempt was just awful. I'll be honest, I went in arrogant and assumed I'd do just fine. Nope, ended up with a 149. I retook the LSAT in June 2013 and ended up with a 167.

I'll be honest. I'd like to stay in Wisconsin, so I applied to Madison and got accepted with a 50% scholarship. My goals are to end up in prosecution, but I think if I take a little longer I can cross that threshold and end up with at least a 170. It's worth trying anyway. However, the issue at hand here is as follows. I've got independent level undergraduate debt - exactly $57,500. By my calculations, a partial scholarship, even if I kept it for three years, would add at least another $50,000 to that in tuition and living expenses. Even a full ride could add as much as $30,000 in living expenses and that would be nearly double what an entry level prosecutor makes.