To Retake, and to Retake for Where? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Tuxedo

New

To Retake, and to Retake for Where?

Post by Tuxedo » Thu Mar 20, 2014 3:03 pm

I'm not exactly sure where to post these questions on TLS, but here goes:

Background
I'm sure this topic has been covered before, but as a relative TLS noob I'm trying to make some big choices even as I entertain offers from some regional schools (SMU, Emory, et al). I may have an opportunity to continue teaching at my high school even though I had initially told admin that I wouldn't be returning next year.

I know that the standard advice for me (3.78/165 with one retake remaining) is RETAKE, and it's advice I'm considering for the Sept/Oct LSAT. Just in case some well-meaning TLSers are questioning whether or not they're heard. I'm getting married in August and my future wife's family is in TX, and my family is spread out throughout the Southeast (mostly in TN). Ideally I'd like to practice in a mid-to-big law firm, and I'd like to have the option to make that choice as I exit law school instead of having my school make it for me (in effect). I refuse to think that I'm going to be the school's exception, no matter how hard I study. Also, finances aren't going to be a problem, really. FWIW, the comments about not wasting the GPA were heard.

SMU or Emory give me something of a chance of accomplishing those goals, but I am considering whether it would be wiser to burn a year and the cost of applications, enjoy the first year of marriage while studying and retaking, and then attend a T14 with the goal of landing a good job in TX or the Southeast.

Questions for Y'all
1. OK: I know T14s place well in lots of markets—but do any have a particular connection with TX and SE markets? I'm guessing UVA for the Southeast, and obviously HYS will land jobs well most anywhere.