UCLA vs Lower T14??? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

UCLA vs lower T14?

UCLA
50%
Lower T14
50%

Total votes: 24

Glasseyes

Silver

UCLA vs Lower T14???

Post by Glasseyes » Thu Mar 20, 2014 2:23 am

The endless dilemma. Rankings vs comfort. Cost vs prestige. Blank vs blank. Ultimately my decision comes in two parts: stay in LA and attend UCLA, the hometown favorite, or venture forth for bigger/better/etc and do one of the lower T14 schools. And if I do a lower T14, which one? (This will be lengthy; apologies.)

Upfront Basics: I'm a nontrad student with a young family, currently in Los Angeles, looking to make the smartest decision overall, by which I mean the least risky in terms of finding employment after this is all said and done. I'm in the fortunate position that I won't have to finance the cost of tuition wherever I go, so the looming spectre of debt is less of a concern--rather, the cheaper I can do this the less I decimate my savings (i.e., moving to a new city and paying sticker at any of these schools would effectively decimate my savings).

Current Options: accepted at UCLA and Georgetown, still hoping for scholarships. I have been in talks with both schools and there is a potential for movement, but both have had a chance to dazzle me with numbers, and neither has. I'm also on the pre-waitlists for Cornell ("reserve") and Northwestern ("hold"), and somehow landed on Columbia's regular waitlist (also "reserve", though decidedly less reserved). Also in at Texas with a scholly for in-state tuition prices plus a couple grand, though I would only want to live and work in Austin (my wife has great texas ties, but Dallas & Houston are off the table). Have yet to hear back from Stanford and NYU, but I expect brutal rejections from both.