What law school could I get into? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
isItPossible

New

What law school could I get into?

Post by isItPossible » Sun Oct 27, 2013 3:17 am

So I'm thinking about going to law school, but I need some advice from people that know more than I do about the process.

I was a business undergrad with a degree in Management Information Systems from the Carlson School of Management, but my GPA sucked (3.50 exactly). I'm working full time as a management consultant at the moment.

Really the only thing I have on my side is that I have a ton of time to study for the LSAT and there is absolutely no reason that I couldn't score well. I'm fairly confident that I could learn to score at least 170 because I have years to study if I need them.

What kind of law school could I get into with my weak GPA?

I'm assuming that anything within the top 20 is out, but I guess that I wouldn't really know.
Does GPA play much into the decision? I have seen a lot of articles that says that it doesn't because GPAs can vary so widely between undergraduate majors. Is that true?

Kellanj

New

Re: What law school could I get into?

Post by Kellanj » Sun Oct 27, 2013 3:40 am

3.5 is better than a lot of applicants. Study hard, ace the LSAT (170+) and you'll get into some solid T-14 schools.

mitch1010

New

Post by mitch1010 » Sun Oct 27, 2013 3:45 am

NU is super splitter-friendly and attaches special importance to WE, besides 3.50 is not really that bad. Get 170+(75% of NU is 171) on LSAT, along with your working experience, I'm sure you can get offers from some T14 schools.

cotiger

Gold

Post by cotiger » Sun Oct 27, 2013 6:53 am

If you can get even into the low 170s, you definitely have options.

Here's the results for people with 3.40-3.59 and 170-172.

IpleadtheFiF

New

Post by IpleadtheFiF » Thu Oct 31, 2013 10:06 pm