Options for TX Law Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Attax

Gold

Options for TX Law

Post by Attax » Fri Oct 04, 2013 11:26 am

Hi all, I'm new to the forum and have a question that I haven't seen answered. But first, some info!

-Schools considering: GULC, GWU, Cornell, UVa, NW, Texas, UHouston, Emory, Baylor, SMU, UCLA, Fordham, WUStL
-The total Cost of Attendance (COA) of each. COA = No idea yet to most of them, 0 tuition to Texas and Houston
-How you will be financing your COA: at a public school in TX I qualify for the Hazelwood Act which will pay all my tuition, elsewhere, scholarships and loans
-Where you are from and where you want to work, and other places where you have significant ties: From Texas, Marshall area wanting to work in Dallas. I am a UT undergrad student in STEM who wants to work in IP law with ties to IP law (for whatever that's worth) at a few large TX firms.
-Your general career goals: Preferably work in Texas, also would consider NY, California, Washington (DC and State). General goal is to get into IP work right out of law school. I know I want to do IP, my mother is a paralegal for IP firms and I've shadowed, sat in on courts, and my mentor is a principal at a big TX IP firm so I've shadowed and seen what he does. I do KNOW that it interests me.
-Your LSAT/GPA numbers: GPA 3.0 in STEM, no LSAT yet, currently PT'ing around 172
-How many times you have taken the LSAT: 0 yet, taking it tomorrow

So, with that in mind, I know T14 is best, and UT is a longshot since they don't seem to be very splitter friendly. I feel as if my only realistic option to stay debt free for now is Houston (I am, however, applying ED to Texas) unless I do manage to get into Texas in which case I will definitely go there. I figure going to Texas with guaranteed tuition paid is better than hoping for scholarships elsewhere, especially as a splitter.