Emory $$ or retake for Vandy? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
lawschoolwoohoo

Bronze

Emory $$ or retake for Vandy?

Post by lawschoolwoohoo » Wed May 08, 2013 8:37 pm

I am a senior in undergrad, about to finish. I have a 3.65 gpa and a 167 LSAT score from October 2012. I only took it once. I really want to practice in SC (though would also be happy with GA or NC) because I am from there and have many ties to the state. I want to do PI, prosecution, or family law.

I have 29k at Emory per year and enough money saved that I will not be taking debt. Cost of living will be covered by my very generous family.

My problem is this, my heart from day one was set on Vandy. I got waitlisted there, but am seeing on other threads that they're okay taking 168's off the waitlist this year, which is kind of breaking my heart, so I'm thinking it's probably a no go. So, question is, do I shoot for Vandy next year or just suck it up and go to Emory this year? I already put a deposit down on an apartment and have absolutely no future plans or options other than that (except to move back to my small suburban town with no jobs/prospects) so I'm feeling pretty lost. Nothing interests me other than law so it's not like I can take the year to explore other careers. I don't really care much about the experience I get at a law school, I just want to be able to graduate and get a moderate-paying job somewhere in the Southeast. I'm not looking for prestige or millions of dollars.

I was initially going to re-take this June, but I loved a beloved aunt in April and just totally messed up and stopped studying completely so I really don't think it would be worth it.

Doorkeeper

Gold

Re: Emory $$ or retake for Vandy?

Post by Doorkeeper » Wed May 08, 2013 8:54 pm

Retake the LSAT, get a 170, get a job for a year to save money, and get into UVA, Duke and Vandy with scholarship money. Thank me next year.