NYU vs. UVA $$$ vs. NU $$$ vs. UCLA $$$ Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
monstarrx

New

NYU vs. UVA $$$ vs. NU $$$ vs. UCLA $$$

Post by monstarrx » Fri Apr 12, 2013 2:03 am

Hello!

This is my first time posting on this forum, but I have been reading around here for about the last year and a half.. I am currently considering what school to attend next year, so if you don't mind, please provide some input/opinions. Thanks!

NYU - $78,112
- no scholarship offers

UVA - $71,800
- scholarship offer: $45,000/year

Northwestern - $79,628
- scholarship offer: $50,000/year + 1 year deferral condition

UCLA - $57,000 (resident)
- scholarship offer: $40,000/year

- COA taken from all the schools' official website #s, except for UCLA, which I took from the TLS page for UCLA.
- I expect to be financing my COA through scholarships and loans. My parents want to help me financially as well, but I don't want to rely on them too much, which is why I am being more considerate of the better scholarship offers.
- I'm from CA and want to work in CA after law school. I'm from norcal but am currently an undergraduate from UC San Diego so I have ties in both the Bay Area and SD.
- I'm undecided on what field I want to go into, but I have been told this is something I can discover once I attend law school.
- 171/3.87 and took the LSAT once.
- Other factors: I am strongly considering deferring for a year to work. This is due to the fact that while I feel ready for law school, I do not feel like I have true work experience, and I believe having work experience as well as working for a year before attending law school would make me a stronger job applicant when I start applying for jobs and internships in/post law school. However, if I do not find a job for next year, I do want to continue going to law school straight away then.

- For those that are curious about other schools I applied to:
Stanford NO NEWS
Columbia NO NEWS
Berkeley DENIED
Yale DENIED