H/S/Ruby (or, I'm a very lucky one) Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

I should:

HLS
12%
SLS
15%
Ruby
62%
Retake
10%

Total votes: 97

callmemaybe84

Bronze

H/S/Ruby (or, I'm a very lucky one)

Post by callmemaybe84 » Tue Apr 09, 2013 9:06 pm

Okay, so I want to hear arguments from you all. I know I have an embarrassment of riches, but any thoughts on this debate (I've found a few).

Options:
HLS (160k expected debt, loans)
SLS (150k expected debt, loans)
Chicago (0k expected debt, Ruby)

I have scholarships and some minor savings that will finance all of this. Other than the loans.

In the short term: I want litigation, ideally in the DC market. Academia is something I'd love to do in the medium term (but I realize how fickle that market is), and getting a clerkship is very important to me.

Thoughts?

Gunnar Stahl

Silver

Re: H/S/Ruby (or, I'm a very lucky one)

Post by Gunnar Stahl » Tue Apr 09, 2013 9:08 pm

take the money and run.

sinfiery

Gold

Post by sinfiery » Tue Apr 09, 2013 9:12 pm

3% increase in clerkship chances at H
14% increase in clerkship chances at S

neither, imo, are worth 150k+ in debt.

Unless DC is impossible from C and likely at one of H or S, take the money for your goals.

Financially speaking ofc.

Lacepiece23

Silver

Post by Lacepiece23 » Tue Apr 09, 2013 9:14 pm

I'd only take Harvard if you wanted that lay prestige. For me it would be worth telling people that I went to Harvard. If your like normal people take the money and run.

callmemaybe84

Bronze

Post by callmemaybe84 » Tue Apr 09, 2013 9:14 pm

sinfiery wrote:3% increase in clerkship chances at H
Unless DC is impossible from C and likely at one of H or S, take the money for your goals.

3 percent higher at HLS than Chicago? where are you getting that statistic?

For appellate Chicago averages 20, I'd imagine harvard (at under 3x size) averages well over 60...