UCLA vs. Michigan Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
h2opolo

New

UCLA vs. Michigan

Post by h2opolo » Thu Mar 21, 2013 1:25 pm

I am deciding between UCLA and Michigan both at sticker.

I'm a CA resident so will pay in-state at UCLA.

Only as of late, I have been thinking of working in LA, but I am not too sure. I was also thinking about going in to entertainment law, but again, I'm not entirely set on that.

Here are my thoughts on choosing:

At Michigan, I forgo the opportunity to study entertainment law at the finest institution. I also will be stuck in Ann Arbor and the crappy weather therein. However, it has a beautiful campus, places well in both CA and NY, has a more prestigious name, and has better big law placement.

At UCLA, I will pigeonhole myself in the LA market which I may end up disliking. I essentially limit my opportunities to practice east coast big law. However, it has beautiful weather, a beautiful campus, great job placement in LA, and an incredible entertainment law program.

This is such a difficult choice because I'm not entirely set on what/where I want to practice. Any advice would be much appreciated, thanks!

Rahviveh

Gold

Re: UCLA vs. Michigan

Post by Rahviveh » Thu Mar 21, 2013 1:26 pm

These are your only options?

h2opolo

New

Post by h2opolo » Thu Mar 21, 2013 1:30 pm

ChampagnePapi wrote:These are your only options?
These are my best options; the only ones I really want to attend. I have scholarships to several t-30 schools, but have been waitlisted at almost every single t-14. It's been a frustrating cycle...

Rahviveh

Gold

Post by Rahviveh » Thu Mar 21, 2013 1:30 pm

I hate to be "that guy" but you have a 4.0. Have you maxed out your LSAT?

Paul Campos

Silver

Post by Paul Campos » Thu Mar 21, 2013 1:38 pm