Texas v. Vandy, Cornell Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Where should I go?

Texas
45%
Vanderbilt
24%
Cornell
28%
UCLA
3%

Total votes: 29

shrimpandgrits

New

Texas v. Vandy, Cornell

Post by shrimpandgrits » Mon Feb 04, 2013 5:58 pm

Ok guys, where should I go?

Options
1. Texas (In)
2. Vandy (In)
3. Cornell (In)
4. UCLA (waiting for decision)

Cost
1. I'm a Texas resident, so automatically my COA for Texas is lower than my COA for the others.
2. No scholarship info yet, but I'm not expecting anything from Cornell. I may qualify for some money from Vandy or Texas.

Career Plans
1. I have two strong (but unrelated) potential areas of interest: energy/natural resource law (am a geologist by training) or public law (non-TFA professional experience in urban teaching and inner city community development, social sciences advanced degree).
2. I badly want an article three clerkship.
3. Someday I may pursue a Ph.D. in my social science field and make the jump to academia. Maybe. Possibly. Meh.

Random factors
1. Clinical opportunities matter tremendously.
2. Collegiality with peers and alumni matter tremendously.
3. I would like to practice in Washington State or Tennessee, the states to which I have the closest ties.

Thanks for your advice!

superpippo

New

Re: Texas v. Vandy, Cornell

Post by superpippo » Mon Feb 04, 2013 6:05 pm

Third factor you listed in regard to where you want to practice is not random, but central to your decision about which school to attend. As most, if not all, of these schools are not entirely national in scope in terms of placement (Cornell arguably being the exception), it may be best to attend a law school in the region where you wish to practice. Vandy seems like it would be best considering your wish to possibly practice in Tennessee.