WUSTL 96k v. Fordham 30k (want to work in NY) Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
igel

New

WUSTL 96k v. Fordham 30k (want to work in NY)

Post by igel » Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:29 pm

just got in at WUSTL, was pretty set on Fordham before as I really want to work in New York
but 96k is a lot more than 30k (in total)
my parents are paying so I don't have to worry about loans but still..........

any advices? Thanks!

ahnhub

Silver

Re: WUSTL 96k v. Fordham 30k (want to work in NY)

Post by ahnhub » Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:37 pm

I would vote WUSTL, unless you're absolutely dead-set on NY. Where are you from?

igel

New

Post by igel » Thu Jun 21, 2012 9:59 am

I am an international student so I don't really have any ties here in the states.....
not completely set on NY but would prefer a big city either on the east or west coast
wustl is a really good school, I just wish it has a better location, but oh well you can't have everything I guess...........

Doorkeeper

Gold

Post by Doorkeeper » Thu Jun 21, 2012 10:00 am

WUSTL is not good for the NYC market. Do not go if you're deadset on NYC.

Fordham is much better for NYC, but with only 30k it's expensive as fuck. If you're ok with your parents paying over 200k for an ok law degree, then go to Fordham.

Both schools are very regional. They get their graduates jobs in the area that the school is located in. WUSTL can get you St. Louis or another midwestern city. Don't bank on Chicago. Probably not happening.

dpk711

Silver

Post by dpk711 » Thu Jun 21, 2012 10:01 am

Can you negotiate with Fordham? WUSTL's NY placement is not optimal but a $60K+ difference is nothing to laugh at.

Want to continue reading?

Register now to search topics and post comments!

Absolutely FREE!

jas1503

Bronze

Post by jas1503 » Thu Jun 21, 2012 10:02 am

igel wrote: my parents are paying so I don't have to worry about loans but still..........
You say this so nonchalantly; like Joe Cool at the water fountain.

ahnhub