Suffolk vs. New England School of Law $$ Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
PishPosh

New

Suffolk vs. New England School of Law $$

Post by PishPosh » Fri May 11, 2012 10:22 am

So..I got 15k at NESL vs. sticker at Suffolk. (I am going to email Suffolk and try to negotiate a scholly with the NESL money)

Does NESL really have that bad of reputation? I work in the field now.
I'm not looking to leave Boston or do big law..I will probably stay in the same company or field. (health care/non profit)

I need a part-time program in Boston because I'm not leaving my job. So NESL and Suffolk are my 2 options. And I'm not retaking the LSAT! Thoughts? Thank you!!

flem

Diamond

Re: Suffolk vs. New England School of Law $$

Post by flem » Fri May 11, 2012 10:24 am

PishPosh wrote: I'm not looking to leave Boston or do big law..I will probably stay in the same company or field. (health care/non profit)

I need a part-time program in Boston because I'm not leaving my job. So NESL and Suffolk are my 2 options. And I'm not retaking the LSAT! Thoughts? Thank you!!
Do you have a job lined up? If so, is your company LRAP eligible? You're looking at pretty large debt no matter what, even going part time.

stillwater

Gold

Post by stillwater » Fri May 11, 2012 10:28 am

PishPosh wrote: Does NESL really have that bad of reputation?
NESL is definitely far down the pecking order in Boston. Neither Suffolk nor NESL has a great reputation, but a lot of older people have some regard for Suffolk. While it is positive you are retaining your job, I would try to minimize the price of these options. Normally I would say they're only worth it if they're free.

timbs4339

Gold

Post by timbs4339 » Fri May 11, 2012 12:35 pm

NESL is a non-issue, do not go.