Brooklyn ($$$) vs. Northwestern (Sticker) Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Which school should I attend?

Brooklyn Law School
37%
Northwestern
63%

Total votes: 43

zor

Bronze

Brooklyn ($$$) vs. Northwestern (Sticker)

Post by zor » Wed Apr 25, 2012 12:58 pm

About me: I graduated college six years ago (a top women's school) with a 3.78, magna, distinctions on both theses, president of student club, you know the drill. I've been a paralegal for four out of these six years at a small complex commercial litigation firm and love my attorneys and the work we do. For the past two years I've volunteered for a prisoners' rights group. Both my job and volunteering commitment have strongly urged me to attend law school. Re finances, my mom's a poor single mother who will finally get to retire in five years from her ridiculously underpaid job. My sister will be going to college in the fall. I have no Mr. Moneybags to pay my law school loans, and some of my income actually goes to support my mom and sister. I paid for college myself through scholarships and loans and just finished paying them off in total last December.

I studied hard, took the LSAT in December 2010, and got a 164--I had been practice testing around 169. I applied to only the top tier schools and was rejected from all of them. So I took all the TLS advice and worked my ass off to retake the LSAT. The month leading up to the test I consistently scored 172-178 at home. On test day of October 2011, I got... a 164. Decided to lower my standards and apply to some T20-30 and strong regional schools, since I didn't see the point in doing the LSAT thing for a third time when I really gave it my all the last time.