3.9+ GPA, 160 LSAT UConn vs. Wake (with retake) Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Where should I send my seat deposit

Wake Forest ($120k COA)
30%
UConn ($40k COA)
70%

Total votes: 10

Niners4Life

New

3.9+ GPA, 160 LSAT UConn vs. Wake (with retake)

Post by Niners4Life » Sun Apr 08, 2012 10:21 pm

Stats are in the topic title. Before you scream retake, I am currently studying for the June LSAT. However, just to be safe, I plan on sending in a seat deposit to either UConn or Wake. Here is the situation:

Wake has offered me $20k a year as long as I remain in good standing. My estimated 3-year COA is approximately $120k (before interest)

UConn has offered me a renewable full ride scholarship plus $3k in work study for at least my first year as long as I maintain a 3.0 GPA (their curve is supposedly set for a 3.0 median, but an admissions dean has told me 75% of their students earn a 3.0 of better). Additionally, I've been told that UConn won't necessarily revoke the scholarship if a recipient falls below the requirement (I think an intervention-type meeting would be setup first to discuss what went wrong). My estimated 3-year COA would be approximately $40k (before interest).

I have visited both schools and was very drawn to Wake Forest. I honestly loved the school and feel like I'd be very happy there for three years and am willing to pay a little bit of a premium to attend. I honestly was not that drawn to UConn. Based on this thread (http://top-law-schools.com/forums/viewt ... 1&t=150681) Wake has better job prospects (UConn doesn't seem to have great prospects). However, I'm unsure how much Wake's better job prospects are worth. I have some money saved up and, depending on how my three years of school go, may be able to decrease totals for either school by roughly $10k.