Berkeley vs. UT $$ vs. Michigan $ Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Which School??

Texas
61%
Michigan
9%
Berkeley
30%

Total votes: 23

me!0712

New

Berkeley vs. UT $$ vs. Michigan $

Post by me!0712 » Sat Apr 07, 2012 10:48 pm

Hi guys, so any advice would be greatly helpful to me. I am currently split three ways. I am a Texas resident and I would get $36,000 total from Texas and I would get $30 k from Michigan but nothing from Berkeley. I am unsure of what type of law I want to practice or where. I am leaning towards a clerkship immediately after law school but ultimately I think I want to stay in Texas to practice but I am not %100 sure on this. I am really liking Texas because it would be much less expensive and because it has great opportunities. The only thing that is holding me back is its national prestige. Berkeley and Michigan have a more national reputation than Texas but they don't have a Supreme Court Law clinic (that I know of) like Texas does and that is an opportunity that I would like to take advantage of. But, like I said before, if I end up changing my mind and want to practice elsewhere I am afraid it will be difficult because Texas is not really a school with a national reputation.

de5igual

Silver

Re: Berkeley vs. UT $$ vs. Michigan $

Post by de5igual » Sat Apr 07, 2012 11:03 pm

What's your total COA at each? Regardless, Berkeley should be out unless you have some preference for the west coast. This should come down to UT @ instate + $ vs UMich + $

bk1

Diamond

Post by bk1 » Sat Apr 07, 2012 11:04 pm

Clerkship is irrelevant since your chance of clerking out of any of these schools is quite small. SCOTUS clinic is also irrelevant, imo.

Do some soulsearching. If you are fairly sure you want TX, take UT. If you are fairly sure you want not-TX, take UMich.

shoeshine

Silver

Post by shoeshine » Sat Apr 07, 2012 11:05 pm

If you want to practice in Texas the obvious answer is UT.

Tiago Splitter

Diamond