UCLA vs. Cornell, help please! Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
melj

New

UCLA vs. Cornell, help please!

Post by melj » Wed Mar 28, 2012 10:22 pm

I apologize in advance if this post feels repetitive at all. I've tried to read through every post on this board involving UCLA and Cornell for insight, but decided that for my own peace of mind I needed to put my exact situation out there for advice.

My decision has basically boiled down to this:

Cornell - $10,000 annual scholarship
UCLA - $20,000 annual scholarship

I'm a current UCLA undergrad, 168 LSAT 3.8 GPA. I really would like to go back to the East Coast, specifically New York, since that's where I'm from originally. I could handle three more years of school in LA, but don't think I'd want my entire career to be here. I'm not completely set on any particular kind of law at the moment, but I feel like Big Law might be my only hope of paying off loans. I would also be interested in a clerkship if I get the grades, or academia, though I realize that's unlikely with these schools.

I've had a mild obsession with Cornell since high school, and have been completely set on them since getting in. But I guess I'm starting to question whether it's worth it, given the combination of Cornell's higher expense/lower scholarship, and current rank only one higher than UCLA.

If anyone has any advice I would really appreciate it! Thanks for taking the time to read through this.

Revolver066

Bronze

Re: UCLA vs. Cornell, help please!

Post by Revolver066 » Wed Mar 28, 2012 10:25 pm

So you want to work on the East coast, you don't really want to spend three more years in LA, you want big law...this is an easy decision. Go to Cornell. In the market you want, places better in big law, and you are even getting a little cash.

Nelson

Gold

Post by Nelson » Wed Mar 28, 2012 10:26 pm