cannot decide.. please help!! Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Schang1

Bronze

cannot decide.. please help!!

Post by Schang1 » Mon Mar 19, 2012 10:09 pm

Hello TLS users!

Here are the list of schools that I have currently been accepted at (I put at asterisk to the ones that I am "considering" attending):

-Vanderbilt*
-WUSTL*
-BU*
-BC*
-GW*
-U of Illinois
-U of Minnesota
-Fordham
-Emory
-Notre Dame
-William and Mary
-U of Washington

Just a brief introduction: I am an international student, so I have absolutely no connections at all to any state in the US. Money is not an issue for me so I haven't noted any scholarship info above (as people might choose the school that has given me the most $$). I am on the preferred waitlist for GULC, so if I get admitted, none of this would matter -- but because I doubt I'll get in, I'm planning to make seat deposits to at least 2-3 schools.

Here are my questions.. Please share your opinion/advice with me! :)

1. By rank, Vanderbilt is the highest on my list -- but like I've mentioned above, I have no connections at all to any state in the US, so does this mean that I will have to be stuck in Tennessee for the rest of my life? There are about 11-14 people who graduate from Vandy that work in NYC firms, but I have no clue if these people have connections to the city (I assume they do?). If I don't want to live in Tennessee for the rest of my life and want to work in the east coast upon graduation, is Vandy not the right choice for me?

2. Same with WUSTL, is this not the right school for me if I have zero connections to NYC or DC and perhaps might want to end up working there in the future?

3. I am leaning towards BU, BC and GW and am planning to make seat deposits to all 3 of these schools or just 2 of them (GW and BU/BC). Is this a smart thing to do?

4. GW seems to place very few of its grads in big firms, but can this just be self-selection?