Which School to Go to for Big Law? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
echamberlin8

Bronze

Which School to Go to for Big Law?

Post by echamberlin8 » Tue Mar 06, 2012 12:41 pm

My goal is to get into a big law firm in NYC. I haven't taken the LSAT yet. Planning to in June, and if I don't get a 170, doing it again in October. My GPA is a 3.73. I graduated in '09, and have worked at a government contracting company, and now work at a big DC law firm.

I'm aware that Columbia and NYU are my two best options for getting into NYC big law. That is why my goal is at least a 170 on the LSAT. If I don't get into those, I know Cornell is another option. And possibly University of Pennsylvania. Are there any other good options outside of T6 for NYC big law other than Cornell and UPenn?

Bronck

Gold

Re: Which School to Go to for Big Law?

Post by Bronck » Tue Mar 06, 2012 12:45 pm

Yes.... Did you search this forum at all? The T13 in general should give you a solid shot...

echamberlin8

Bronze

Post by echamberlin8 » Tue Mar 06, 2012 12:56 pm

I have indeed searched this forum before. I thought that would be the case, but there seems to be a lot of pessimism about getting a job in NYC big law unless you want to specific schools that tap into that market, even if they are T14 (or 13, as you say). For instance, a lot of people seem to doubt that a school like UVA or Duke would be able to feed into a big NYC firm unless you were like top 10% of your class.

Still, that is rather comforting to know that in general the top 13 or so schools can get one a job at NYC big law. I am much more confident that I can get into a T13 school than I am that I can get into NYU (probably need a 172) or Columbia (probably need a 173).

bobbyh1919

Silver

Post by bobbyh1919 » Tue Mar 06, 2012 12:59 pm