Where Should I be applying Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
jzabl001

New

Where Should I be applying

Post by jzabl001 » Mon Sep 12, 2011 6:31 pm

Hey everyone. Need some law application advice. I graduated from the University of Miami last spring (2010) with around a 3.0 and went straight to get my MBA at Florida International University (graduated with about a 3.2). My goal is to practice commercial law but I didn't want to do the combined JD/MBA. I have solid internship experience (finance and consulting) and hopefully will be scoring in the high 150s to hopefully the low 160s on the LSAT (just starting to study now for December exam). My top choice would be UMiami but I'm also thinking of applying to UF and FSU (a bit more of a stretch) but I also wanted to see what other schools I might be competitive at.

Grizz

Diamond

Re: Where Should I be applying

Post by Grizz » Mon Sep 12, 2011 6:36 pm

lawschoolpredictor.com

lawschoolnumbers.com

Also, why did you get your MBA without post-grad WE. Maybe try to get a job before piling on another degree.

jzabl001

New

Post by jzabl001 » Mon Sep 12, 2011 6:49 pm

I want to practice commercial law. FIU had a one year MBA that started right away and Miami's didnt start until January. I would have done the joint JD/MBA but didn't want to wait six months to enroll

Grizz

Diamond

Post by Grizz » Mon Sep 12, 2011 6:53 pm

jzabl001 wrote:I want to practice commercial law. FIU had a one year MBA that started right away and Miami's didnt start until January. I would have done the joint JD/MBA but didn't want to wait six months to enroll
The MBA will probably hurt rather than help you as you look for a legal job. An MBA is not necessary (and many times, not desired) to practice commercial law. Also people will wonder why you didn't work first.