To transfer or not to transfer . . . Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
CAInside

New

To transfer or not to transfer . . .

Post by CAInside » Mon Sep 12, 2011 1:21 pm

I am in my first year on a scholarship in a Southern top 50 school. I would like to practice law in the Midwest. I am looking to do IP most likely but not for sure . . . .

Here are my options:
1. I have already quit my job and started law school. I have an apt, and have already taken out loans and bought all my books (and highlighted them all over - no returning them now lol). I should stay, finish my law degree and take the bar. It will be more difficult, but then work towards getting a job in the Midwest in IP.

2. Quit school now, and defer my fall 2011 application and start my 1L year again next year at a Midwest school. I received a scholarship last year, but there is no guarantee, just a hopeful possibility, that I will get this scholarship again for next fall. Find a job in the meantime (this will be difficult, but possible i hope) and work until next fall. Lose any funds already paid including books, apt rental, insurance, missed salary from quitting my job, etc. to start all over again next year.

What do you think? I was originally just planning on transferring after my 1L year, but it appears there are no scholarships if I do it this way . . . . darn it. :|

By the way, I am just concerned about the Midwest job opportunities . . .
Last edited by CAInside on Tue Sep 13, 2011 11:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

Bildungsroman

Platinum

Re: To transfer or not to transfer . . .

Post by Bildungsroman » Mon Sep 12, 2011 1:31 pm

What led you to choose SMU over a full tuition scholarship at a better school in the region where you want to practice?

CanadianWolf

Diamond

Post by CanadianWolf » Mon Sep 12, 2011 1:34 pm

Stay at SMU.

Grizz

Diamond

Post by Grizz » Mon Sep 12, 2011 1:37 pm