Michigan State or Syracuse (waitlist Miami and Indiana) Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
drewski2011

New

Michigan State or Syracuse (waitlist Miami and Indiana)

Post by drewski2011 » Wed Jul 06, 2011 9:52 am

Hey guys just looking for some advice here. I am a canadian hopeful law student. I am accepted at Michigan State and Syracuse and at this point am leaning towards MSU. It is cheaper ($32,000 vs $44,000) and has a dual law program with Ottawa where I can get my canadian law degree after 2 years at MSU. Syracuse is attractive because of the dual degree with the maxwell school, but it is not forsure and is quite competitive. Being able to practice in NY would be attractive to Toronto law firms, but the ability to come back to canada and go to ottawa is why I am leaning towards MSU. Ottawa is a fairly decent law school in canada.

I am also on the waitlist at Miami and Indy law also so I am just weighing all my options at this point. Retaking the LSAT and taking a year off to reapply isn't in the cards so I have to go with what I have here. I am hoping for Miami and don't know if I will switch to indy if I get in there.

My GPA was a 3.5 and LSAT was a 155.
Any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks.

CanadianWolf

Diamond

Re: Michigan State or Syracuse (waitlist Miami and Indiana)

Post by CanadianWolf » Wed Jul 06, 2011 9:55 am

MSU/Ottawa dual degree is the better option since you want to practice in Canada.

FeelTheHeat

Platinum

Post by FeelTheHeat » Wed Jul 06, 2011 9:58 am

CanadianWolf wrote:MSU/Ottawa dual degree is the better option since you want to practice in Canada.
Yup. Given your career aspirations, I'd say that is the better choice.

Strictly out of curiosity, how come you cannot retake and reapply? Your GPA isn't half bad.

CanadianWolf

Diamond

Post by CanadianWolf » Wed Jul 06, 2011 10:07 am