Wanting to practice some type of Intellectual Property Law Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
lhanvt13

Gold

Wanting to practice some type of Intellectual Property Law

Post by lhanvt13 » Thu Jun 09, 2011 2:35 pm

Hi I'm a student at Virginia Tech. I'm a rising junior in Computer Science. my GPA is not too great; 2.5, however I'm pretty sure I could bring that up. I was just wandering, since I want to go to law school, what law schools have a decent Intellectual Property program that I could maybe shoot for? nothing too crazy please.. I know I'm not gonna get in to Stanford haha ._.
oh and havnt taken any LSAT practice tests yet although I am currently working on LG
Thank you!

scammedhard

Silver

Re: Wanting to practice some type of Intellectual Property Law

Post by scammedhard » Thu Jun 09, 2011 5:02 pm

Your GPA is way too low to get into a decent school to make law school a worthwhile investment. IMO, you have much better career prospects and opportunities if you stay in Computer Science.

ajcollege

New

Post by ajcollege » Thu Jun 09, 2011 9:21 pm

scammedhard wrote:Your GPA is way too low to get into a decent school to make law school a worthwhile investment.

OP, this is a harsh but accurate statement. Fortunately, you have 2 school years to improve your GPA. Your long term plan should be roughly as follows:

1) Forget the LSAT right now. Stop studying, stop buying books. Don't think about it. \
2) Improve your GPA as much as possible between now and when you graduate. Either take as many "easy" courses as possible, or start working harder. 2.5 isn't going to cut it anywhere. You need at least a 3.x. The higher the better.
3) Get a job after you graduate, preferably hands-on in CompSci. Work this job for at least 1-2 years. Stay in Virginia, get residency.
4) After 1-2 years, if you still want to do law school, study for the LSAT. Study hard, you need at 170.