Berkeley vs. UCLA Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

best option?

Berkeley
88%
UCLA
12%

Total votes: 34

williams55

New

Berkeley vs. UCLA

Post by williams55 » Wed Jun 08, 2011 7:15 pm

Just when I thought my cycle was over I got accepted off the waitlist at Berkeley, which means it's decision time. I am a CA resident with ties to the Bay Area, and Berkeley has consistently been my top choice. I've never really liked the LA area and got a somewhat weird vibe from the law school when I visited, but I could deal with living there if I had to. I'm fortunate enough to be able to cover tuition & fees, which means I would only be responsible for taking out loans to cover COL. UCLA's scholarship offer was very generous, 30k a year, so I would be basically guaranteed a free ride so long as my GPA stays above 2.8. Conversely, I would leave with around 60k in debt from UC Berkeley.

No set employment goals, but I do have a background in public interest that I'd like to pursue further (although of course I'd also like to keep my options open). However, leaving with zero debt from a top-20 law school is tempting...

This forum has always been so helpful before in this process, and I'm completely torn. Help please!

bk1

Diamond

Re: Berkeley vs. UCLA

Post by bk1 » Wed Jun 08, 2011 7:25 pm

It seems like you want Boalt and would prefer it. Boalt is also still very financially flexible in regards to the job you would eventually get. Normally, the reason given for taking the cheaper school (i.e. if you didn't have money to cover the costs) is that you would be drowning in debt and not be able to reasonably pay it back, but that doesn't really apply to you since you have the money up front.