I want to practice tax law... where should I go? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
richalvarez

New

I want to practice tax law... where should I go?

Post by richalvarez » Wed Jun 08, 2011 4:34 pm

I completed my B.S. in accountancy (3.4 gpa) and I'm currently studying for the LSAT's. I live in San Diego, so naturally USD is high on my radar. I have heard great things about their tax program, specifically the LL.M. in Taxation, and the fact they allow you to complete the LL.M. in just one extra semester. Eventually, I would like to work in LA or SD as a tax attorney for a large firm, and I'm wondering what other schools I should be looking into. Any insight is greatly appreciated.

gwuorbust

Gold

Re: I want to practice tax law... where should I go?

Post by gwuorbust » Wed Jun 08, 2011 4:43 pm

you don't need a LLM to practice tax. in fact, getting an LLM would probably be the worst decision you could make because you will miss out on the normal hiring cycle, which could injure your ability to practice in tax. idk how USD does in tax, but generally you should go to a school in an area where you will be fine living after graduation.

Verity

Silver

Post by Verity » Wed Jun 08, 2011 4:44 pm

Gastroenterologist. You might want to get a head start on those ulcers.

richalvarez

New

Post by richalvarez » Wed Jun 08, 2011 4:57 pm

gwuorbust wrote:you don't need a LLM to practice tax. in fact, getting an LLM would probably be the worst decision you could make because you will miss out on the normal hiring cycle, which could injure your ability to practice in tax. idk how USD does in tax, but generally you should go to a school in an area where you will be fine living after graduation.

As of now, I would prefer to live in LA. I'm wondering if I should attend an LA school, or if USD's tax program is prestigious enough to get me a job practicing tax law in LA.

Kilpatrick

Silver

Post by Kilpatrick » Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:00 pm