Chicago V Columbia Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Chicago V Columbia

Chicago
26%
Columbia
74%

Total votes: 53

ViperX

New

Chicago V Columbia

Post by ViperX » Fri Apr 22, 2011 12:24 am

Hello world.

I am attempting to decide between Columbia and Chicago without money at either place. I am interested in working for the federal government (maybe as a prosecutor). If not that, I would go into private practice probably. Further, finances are of no concern, so if I work as a prosecutor I wouldn't be worrying about differences in LRAP programs. I much prefer the idea of living in New York but I imagine I can work things out in Chicago. After graduation I don't much care where I end up. I hear Chicago is very academically inclined and I'm sort of tired of that (my undergrad was pretty academic), but I also hear they have great teachers, and that they hire only those who are very committed to excellent teaching. Learning from professors at Columbia sounds more exciting to me since they, on the whole, seem more practically engaged in the legal community. However, if they aren't very good teachers, perhaps it wouldn't matter how excited I am to take classes there. I know the idea of going to Columbia is exciting to me, whereas Chicago, not so much, and I don't think this has much to do with lay prestige; in all seriousness I just think I might do better at Columbia since I am tired of academics publishing works that are only read by other academics. I heard Chicago has a saying "well, this works well in practice, but what about in theory?" and that approach has no appeal to me whatsoever. But even if I am annoyed by that, perhaps I would do better just because the faculty seems more engaged in my welfare there.

Any thoughts? I am more than willing to plead ignorance on these issues. I just need some arguments for both sides. I'm hoping somebody will hit on something I haven't thought of.

Knock

Platinum

Re: Chicago V Columbia