LL.M. Admissions: BU (General) v. Cardozo (IP) Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
iwtlic

New

LL.M. Admissions: BU (General) v. Cardozo (IP)

Post by iwtlic » Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:36 pm

Hi,

I really need some help!!

I'm a Canadian student finishing up an LL.B.

I got into the Cardozo IP LL.M. program and the BU General LL.M. program with a concentration in Intellectual Property.

I really don't know which to choose. I know BU is probably better in terms of academics and ranked #4 for IP and also much higher than Cardozo in general, but Cardozo offers such great internship opportunities and its in NYC... Also, I wouldn't write the Mass. bar but I would write the NY bar...

Also, I'm interested in IP in terms of entertainment and media, which is probably more centered around NYC than Boston...It going to BU worth it just for the prestige of the name/the name in the specific field, or is Cardozo worth it for a slight dip in terms of reputation but better direct job hunt opportunities....I'm basically wondering what would give me better job opportunities around NYC for IP law focused on entertainment.
Ugh!

I can't decide! I need help! Please!
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

iwtlic

New

Re: LL.M. Admissions: BU (General) v. Cardozo (IP)

Post by iwtlic » Thu Mar 10, 2011 10:57 am

anyone?

iwtlic

New

Post by iwtlic » Fri Mar 11, 2011 1:22 am

Srry to be annoying, but I really need some help.

Can anyone here give me some insight!?

MrAnon

Gold

Post by MrAnon » Fri Mar 11, 2011 1:30 am

I would avoid Cardozo by all means. BU's LLM program is not going to enhance your prospects in any meaningful way, but if you must attend an LLM program I would choose this one from your options. The name is simply more recognizable. If you ever have to return to Canada at least people will know where your school was located when you bring it up. They won't be familiar with Cardozo.