when is it worth to go to law school? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
ypark87

New

when is it worth to go to law school?

Post by ypark87 » Sat Jan 08, 2011 9:24 pm

Hi all!

Just wanted general advice on "when it's worth to go to law school." Going to law school has been something that I have wanted to do since high school, and I've been set on it for a while. Given the job market, and your performance in law school, I want to know at which point is it worth to invest the time and money to go to law school? For instance, should I only go if I get into a top 20? Or, should I go to another school and gamble on the chance that I become top 10% of my class?

I am currently a teacher at a high-needs public school, and I absolutely love my job. The reason I want to go to law school is because I want to work with education and public policy laws, and work with school districts to make better and fairer laws for our kids, teachers, and the education system as a whole. BUT if going to law school did not stack up for me, I would be incredibly happy to remain teaching and stay in this profession.

What do you think? Should I give up on law school given a certain set of factors? Or should I just go for it either way?

Mustard Blood

New

Re: when is it worth to go to law school?

Post by Mustard Blood » Sat Jan 08, 2011 9:36 pm

For your consideration. Probably a little dramatic, but worth reading.

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/01/09/business/09law.html

Bronte

Gold

Post by Bronte » Sat Jan 08, 2011 9:36 pm

Finding a job that you love is one of the hardest things to do. If you've already done so, I would stay put.

DeeCee

Silver

Post by DeeCee » Sat Jan 08, 2011 9:52 pm