Studying and Living in NYC Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Squid

New

Studying and Living in NYC

Post by Squid » Sun Oct 31, 2010 4:29 pm

Hello everyone,

I'm a future JD student (hopefully) who really wants to study and practice law in New York City. Unfortunately, it's quite expensive (you're dealing with the high tuition costs and higher costs of New York).

I was just wondering how maybe some of you with similar experiences managed to make ends meet. I know law school's a full time job, but did any of you do small part time jobs? Just a lot of loans? Etc.

Thanks!

vanwinkle

Platinum

Re: Studying and Living in NYC

Post by vanwinkle » Sun Oct 31, 2010 4:31 pm

You should not work your first year of law school, period.

nol607

Bronze

Post by nol607 » Sun Oct 31, 2010 4:40 pm

Groceries are incredibly expensive in NYC and definitely the biggest component of my expenses. I've found that cooking and eating at home is more expensive than eating out (assuming that you're a guy and eat nasty food like Subway a lot). A lot of people get their groceries on FreshDirect.com, and the prices do seem way cheaper than in stores.

pereira6

Silver

Post by pereira6 » Sun Oct 31, 2010 5:02 pm

I'm anticipating being at Columbia or NYU, so I'd like some advice as well about living there. I'm a relatively poor upstate New Yorker.

motiontodismiss

Silver

Post by motiontodismiss » Mon Nov 01, 2010 3:26 am

nol607 wrote:Groceries are incredibly expensive in NYC and definitely the biggest component of my expenses. I've found that cooking and eating at home is more expensive than eating out (assuming that you're a guy and eat nasty food like Subway a lot). A lot of people get their groceries on FreshDirect.com, and the prices do seem way cheaper than in stores.
Trader Joe's FTW

Want to continue reading?

Register now to search topics and post comments!

Absolutely FREE!

Lwoods

Silver

Post by Lwoods » Mon Nov 01, 2010 7:25 am