Chicago-Kent v. UConn - Patent Law Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
lawdogg

New

Chicago-Kent v. UConn - Patent Law

Post by lawdogg » Sat May 08, 2010 1:53 pm

I'm a mechanical engineer. Thought I was 100% heading to UConn until I got an email last night saying I got accepted to Kent.

My intention is fairly certain - not written in stone - but close to it, to study and practice patent law.

I'd like to practice in a nice urban area. Never been to Chicago, but just visited UConn's campus, it was gorgeous, but the surrounding area (and Hartford) was not my idea of a good 'city' atmosphere.

No $ to either, so it'll be in-state tuition at UConn vs. close to $40k year 1 and then $1250 per credit hour at Kent.

Thoughts?

(Background, I already turned down a $15k/year merit scholarship to Pierce Law, and I'm crossing my fingers on a bunch of waitlists including William & Mary, Santa Clara, and Villanova ..)

Thanks for the discussion. I've read some other UConn threads in this section and it seems to be a fairly well liked school.

//Ryan

UnclaimedGas

New

Re: Chicago-Kent v. UConn - Patent Law

Post by UnclaimedGas » Sun May 09, 2010 2:05 am

Kent IP students do very well in Chicago, and chicago's patent market is nearly as big as NYC's (which is the city you would target coming out of UConn, i assume), while being not as competitive to break into. Both markets are suffering pretty badly though. Kent's also in downtown chicago, if that makes a difference

And as a Kent patent student, it is possible to obtain a part-time job during 2L and 3L years, which would help in paying off some of your debt. You may even decide to switch to part-time if you succeed in obtaining full-time employment (not as likely).

Santa Clara IP students do very well in south bay. But they actually don't do that well in SF, which is more akin to "a nice urban area", which you want