What would you do? Texas $90 v. Duke $40 v. UVA $0 Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

What would you do?

UVA $0K (200 total debt)
12%
Duke $40K (160 total debt)
21%
Texas $90K (110 total debt)
67%

Total votes: 57

Applicant2010

Bronze

What would you do? Texas $90 v. Duke $40 v. UVA $0

Post by Applicant2010 » Tue Apr 13, 2010 11:02 pm

- Goals: BigLaw in California (LA/OC) or Texas in that order
- Cost: I'm married with a newborn, and my wife will only be able to tutor/substitute teach where we end up. Because of this, I will need to take out private loans on top of cost of attendance.
- UVA: This was my goal from day 1, and I think we would be happiest in Charlottesville.
- Duke: I spent two summers at Duke, enjoyed everything about the school and almost attended for UG.
- Texas: I graduated high school in Texas and family still lives there. Two of my siblings are undergrads at UT, so it would be great to have family nearby.

Basically, I love all three options. I will obviously have the best shot at BigLaw from UVA or Duke, but the cost burden is substantial. With interest over 10 years, I'm looking at 150K and 100K more (respectively) in total repayment over UT.

What would you do?
Last edited by Applicant2010 on Wed Apr 14, 2010 12:36 am, edited 2 times in total.

waldodanto

New

Re: What would you do? Texas v. Duke v. UVA

Post by waldodanto » Tue Apr 13, 2010 11:11 pm