UH vs. SMU $$ vs. Vanderbilt $ Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

UH vs SMU vs Vanderbilt

UH sticker
No votes
SMU $25k per year
20%
Vanderbilt $10k per year
80%

Total votes: 35

glassglass

New

UH vs. SMU $$ vs. Vanderbilt $

Post by glassglass » Mon Apr 05, 2010 10:57 pm

I’ve narrowed down my choices in attending law school to the titular three options, but it’s hard to narrow them down further without knowing more. My goal is to practice in Texas, and I can live a rich and fulfilling life without a biglaw job (especially in Texas; it isn’t nearly as expensive as other places). The lack of UT in the title implies correctly that I was rejected there. (The lack of Baylor in the title implies correctly that I was waitlisted there!) For the curious, my stats: 3.25/173, non URM (white male).

U. Houston

Pros: I’m from Houston. My family lives there. My cat lives there. I know where I’ll live (Calhoun Lofts). I already know people at UH. As a Texas resident, I get instate tuition (although ya’ll probably know about the hikes). It’s in Texas, so I can network more easily. I could get summer jobs in Houston more easily.
Cons: Not the nicest facilities. Lowest in rank of the three. I’m concerned about how well it places in Texas outside the Houston metro area. It is not in a nice area. How good is its alumni network, and how close-knit is the student body? No scholarship as of right now – and for this thread let’s assume I don’t get a scholarship. Friends of mine who go to UH (not to law school) dislike the administration. I was not happy about the tuition hikes.

SMU

Pros: $25,000 scholarship: believe it or not, it’s the cheapest option. I was impressed by the campus when I visited (definitely nicer than UH). It’s in a nice area. Like UH, it’s in Texas – good for networking.